Many people think that after adding 5 computers to their iTunes Account its the end for that account and tend to make another account and spend more money buying same things again and again. Its unknown to many people that they can de-authorize their iTunes linked accounts from computers which they either sold, upgraded or even re-installed.

In this post we will give you a step by step guidelines on how to authorize a new computer, de-authorize an existing computer.

Step 1: Start iTunes

Step 2: From the iTunes menu, select the Store section.


Step 3: After that, click on “Authorize This Computer”.


Step  4 : Then, enter your iTunes login details.


If you have an issue authorizing your computer and get an error message saying that you have already reached your five computer limit, then you’ll require to de-authorize a computer before you can proceed.


How To Deauthorize a Computer :

Step 1 : Open iTunes.

Step  2 : Select Store -> Deauthorize computer.

Step 3 : After that, select “Deauthorize Computer for Apple Account” and enter your Apple ID and password.



How To Deauthorize All 5 Computers :

If you find you have reached 5 authorizations, you can reset your authorization count by clicking Deauthorize All in the Account Information screen.

Step 1 : Click iTunes Store in the menu on the left side of iTunes.

Step 2 : If you’re not signed in to the store, click the Account button, then enter your account name and password.

Step 3 :Click the Account button again (your ID appears on the button), enter your password, and then click View Account.

Step 4 : In the Account Information window, click Deauthorize All.

Note: The Deauthorize All button will not appear if you have fewer than 5 authorized computers, or if you have used this option within the last 12 months.


Be sure that you de-authorize your computer before you upgrade your RAM, hard disk or other system components, or reinstall Windows or Mac OS X. Well, if you don’t de-authorize your computer before you upgrade these components, then, one computer may use multiple authorizations.

Also, if you have sold a computer or no longer have to access it, or, if the hard drive dies etc, and you didn’t de-authorize it, then, all is not lost. Actually, you can reset every computers associated with your iTunes account.

But the cache to this is: this is allowed only once in a year.