From the last couple of hours, we have been hearing a little buzz in the community regarding the Path iOS app that the developer of application trigged the application codes to access the users address book and to upload it on their servers for unknown reasons. The thing was firstly, discovered by Arun Thampi; he believes that Path uploads entire address book to its servers. Since the news starts making round of the publications, many users start crying around the social networks regarding the application without knowing the real fact and reason of why did they upload user’s entire address book to their servers. they have unlimited servers to store users data? No they have not!


As the news rapidly moving across the publications, Path CEO quickly explained the whole scenario behind the development of the Path 2.0, and explains why they chose to upload users address book to their servers. Path CEO explains they uploaded the entire address book to their system servers just to support their new features of informing whenever from your address book joins or leaves the platform; in short, it is a kind of feature that new Path 2.0 carries. Here are the original words from Path CEO:

 

We actually think this is an important conversation and take this very seriously. We upload the address book to our servers in order to help the user find and connect to their friends and family on Path quickly and effeciently as well as to notify them when friends and family join Path. Nothing more.

We believe that this type of friend finding & matching is important to the industry and that it is important that users clearly understand it, so we proactively rolled out an opt-in for this on our Android client a few weeks ago and are rolling out the opt-in for this in 2.0.6 of our iOS Client, pending App Store approval.

Path 2.0 is recently launched in the App Store, and quickly makes itself in the top charts and everybody start loving it, but right after the discovery of the new feature bug or authority in the app, everyone will soon start hating it without knowing the original reason behind their this move. However, I believe Path team will soon fix the glitch or disable the whole feature of informing users regarding their address book folks joining the platform. We don’t know why someone called it as a bug, when the company is used to access your address book to provide you out class feature on your device.